Victoria Park Community Cricket League

Contact Us


About the League | Committee | Hall of Fame

The Victoria Park Community Cricket League  was formed in 1988 to provide a wide range of people with access to competitive cricket. Some are decidedly more competitive than others, but the aim is that games are played in a friendly and welcoming spirit. Anyone, regardless of ability, is most welcome. To find out how to enter a team for our league or cup competitions contact the chairman here...

We play here...

Based in Victoria Park in east London, we play two competitions, the league and a knock-out cup. The league is played in three divisions, selected from preliminary games at the start of the season (see the fixtures box for more details).

Trophies are awarded for winning each division and of course, there is the cup.

Matches are 8-a-side and 16 overs per innings, max four overs per bowler, batsmen retiring at 50. The batting side umpires -- meaning it's very important teams play in the Spirit of the Game (for more details see the Rules page).

All matches are played Monday to Thursday evenings, starting between 6 and 6:30 pm. We appreciate that some sides have difficulty getting to the park on time, what with inconvenient things like jobs, but if you don't start by 6.30 at the latest, you do lose the light at the start and end of the season and will have to play a shortened game.

All match balls are provided by the League and paid for out of your league fees.

Details of all matches can be found in the CricHQ fixtures box on the home page.

VPCCL Committee 2020

President: Bert Vandermark 
Chairman: Philip Barrass (Old Fallopians)
Vice-chair: Santokh Kaulder
Secretary: Gary Horsman (Homerton)
Treasurer: Nozmul Hussain (Sky)
Results Secretary:
Firoz Husain (Phoenix)
Fixtures Secretary: Peter Hollman (Pacific)
Web Secretary: Tim Castle (Old Fallopians)
Press & Social Media, Deputy Fixtures Secretary: George Watson
Committee members:
Daniel Venn (Phoenix)
Ash Molvi (Homerton)
Phil Law (NMCC)

Divisional Representatives

Division One: Altaf Bhat (Super Rangers)
Division Two: Ash Molvi (Homerton)
Division Three: Daniel Venn (Phoenix)
Division Four: Phil Law (NMCC)

What the VPCCL Committee looked like in 2004 plus some founding members

The Committee and former members

Main picture: Bert Vandermark (President); Anti-clockwise, from top left, Rob Devaney (Committee Member); Tim Castle (Secretary); Peter Hollman (Fixtures Secretary); Mick Reid (Chairman); Tim Haydon (Founding Treasurer); Paul Williams (Committee Member); Gary Horsman (Founding Committee Member); Philip Barrass (Founding Committee Member); Nigel Richards (Treasurer). Pictures and montage by Tim Castle

Photomontage prepared for Canary Wharf Sports Awards 2004.

Hall of Fame

Winners of "The Double" (League and Cup in same year)

2016 Technosys
2009 The Ducks
2008 Goodmayes
2007 Sky
2001 Mola Jutt (became Sky)
1998 Mola Jutt

League Trophy winners

2020 Anirban (Millwall)
2019 Super Rangers
2018 Millwall
2017 Rose & Crown
2016 Technosys
2015 Sky
2014 Dynamite Ducks
2013 Dynamite Ducks
2012 Dynamite Ducks
2011 Sky
2010 East London Community
2009 The Ducks (became Dynamite Ducks)
2008 Goodmayes
2007 Sky
2006 East End Cavaliers & Victoria Park Juniors (shared)
2005 Traditional Corsairs
2004 Tower Ravens
2003 Sky (Mola Jutt)
2002 Mola Jutt & Pacific (shared)
2001 Mola Jutt
2000 Newham A
1999 Hackney Grasshoppers
1998 Mola Jutt
1997 Globetown
1996 Globetown
1995 Millwall
1994 Tower Hamlets Nalgo (became Rose & Crown)
1993 Dover Castle
1992 Tower Hamlets Nalgo
1991 Bow Neighbourhood

Cup winners

2020 (Cup tournament not played)
2019 Sky
2018 London Tigers
2017 Safe Skills
2016 Technosys
2015 Tower Hamlets
2014 Sky
2013 Chinatown
2012 London Tigers (non-league)
2011 Safe Skills (non-league)
2010 Contenders
2009 The Ducks
2008 Goodmayes
2007 Sky
2006 Traditional Corsairs (non-league)
2005 Sky (Mola Jutt)
2004 Sleek (Hackney Falcons)
2003 Dover Castle
2002 Hackney Falcons (non-league)
2001 Mola Jutt
2000 Mola Jutt
1999 Mola Jutt
1998 Mola Jutt
1996 Pacific

Cup runners-up

2020 (Cup tournament not played)
2019 Old Fallopians 1sts
2018 Millwall
2017 Sky
2016 Shadwell
2015 Technosys
2014 Tawheed
2013 Island Community
2012 Tower Hamlets (ex-Victoria Park Juniors)
2011 Hackney Downs
2010 East London Community
2009 Caledonian Conquerors
2008 New Boys
2007 Goodmayes (ex-Monopoly, non-league)
2006 Vallance
2005 Monopoly (non-league)
2004 Pacific
2003 Newham
2002 Mola Jutt
2001 Tower Ravens
2000 Newham B
1996 Globetown

Plate winners

2014 Nightwatchman (Community Cup)
2013 Sky

Before 1997 - let us know if you remember who won the Cup (the original Cup has gone missing)

Back to top | back to home