Victoria Park Community Cricket League

Submit scores News
Contact us
About us
League tables
Bengal Tigers
Caledonian Conquerors
Chats Palace
The Ducks
East London Community
Island Community
London Fields
London Tigers
London Wanderers
Old Fallopians
Old Ranwellians
Rose & Crown
Tower Cavaliers
Tower Ravens
Tufnell Parkians
Victoria Lounge Victoria Park Juniors
Team websites
Bengal Tigers
East London Community
London Fields
Old Fallopians
Tower Ravens
Victoria Lounge
Victoria Park Juniors


Back to 2009 fixtures  

President's VIII v Goodmayes

Monday 28 April 2009, Victoria Park
President's VIII beat Goodmayes by 7 wickets

Goodmayes: 99 – 4 off 10 overs
Umar Mahmood 24

Presidents VIII: 102-0 off 7.3 overs
Omar Khan 35 not out
Rizwan Siddiqui 33 not out
Mohammaed Imran 2-0-0-21

After basking in Mediterranean conditions for a week it was no surprise to seasoned followers of the Victoria Park Cricket league that come the opening day of the fixture ….cometh the rain…..the cold…..the wind….however the traditional season opener (between the President’s XIII and the League Champions) was played and the match was completed with the result a resounding victory for Mr Vandermark and his recruits by a margin of 7 wickets.

Having won the toss and surveying the encroaching rain laden clouds Mohammed Imran of Goodmayes had no hesitation in electing to bat. Rizwan Siddiqui of Sky, who was captaining the President’s XIII, similarly had no hesitation in commencing with spin from both ends, this was mainly to ensure his team had a reasonable chance at batting some overs in the fast deteriorating weather conditions which resulted in the match being reduced to 10 overs per side.

Tanjeem Chowdury of Island with the very first ball of the 2009 VPCCL season struck the off stump and sent the Goodmayes opener back to the pavilion however his opening partner Umer Mahmood (24)along with No 3 Zubair (18) set about repairing the damage and put on a credible 30 in three overs before Chowdury (3-0-25-2) struck again. Despite some lusty lower order hitting by Khizer (15) and Alex (18) the Presidents XIII managed to stem the flow of runs to just under 10 an over with Siddiqui (Sky) and Sam Dowsett (Island) picking up a wicket apiece as Goodmayes concluded their innings of 10 overs with 99 on the board for the loss of four wickets .

Despite the arrival of a heavy shower during the interval it was agreed to play on and as the weather relented the President’s opening pair of Siddiqui (33*) and Omar Khan (ELCC) 35* made light work of the target and had moved the score onto 86-0 off 7 overs before both were forced to retire by the constant barracking of their team mates demanding some batting action. The following over the victory was completed with Tanjeem Chowdhury hitting the winning runs.

So after defeating the 2007 double winners (Sky) at the 2008 season opener, Mr Vandermark’s outstanding record in bringing champions quickly down to earth is intact….and long may it continue….

Submitted by Rizwan Siddique of Sky


Back to top | back to home