Victoria Park Community Cricket League

Submit scores
Contact us
About us
League tables
Cup games
Bengal Tigers
Best Nationals
Dynamite Ducks
East 8
East London Community
Island Community
London Fields
Mad Marrocas
New Boys
Old Fallopians
Old Ranwellians
The Pumas
Rose & Crown
Stoke Newington
Thomson Reuters
Tower Cavaliers
Tower Hamlets
Victoria Lounge Wrong'uns
Team websites
Bengal Tigers
East London Community
London Fields
Old Fallopians
Victoria Lounge


Back to 2012 fixtures | League tables

Sky v Island Community

Wednesday 18 July 2012, Victoria Park
Sky won by 51 runs

Island won the toss and chose to field first

Sky: 153 for 2 in 16 overs
Anand 50 (ret)
Aleem Hussain 36
Rizwan 30 not out

Island Community: 102 for 7 in 15.2 overs
Haris Ali 4-0-20-4 Rizwan Siddiqui 2-0-12-1 Kaifi Khan 0.2-0-4-1

Sky ended their season with a comfortable win over Island but as events unfolded in Ducks favour on neighbouring Pitch 2 , the victory would only secure a runners up spot in the league's premier division.

Island won the toss and surprisingly elected to field and Sky's opening pair of Aleem and Anand took full advantage of the hard new ball averaging 10 an over for the first 8.

With Anand retiring on a well constructed 50 and Aleem departing on 36 it was left to Kaifi, Nozmul and Rizwan in particular to make sure the hard work did not go to waste.

Sky finished strongly and posted an above par score (for Pitch 3) of 153.

The Island openers began well and kept up with the required run rate initially but the introduction of the veteran Haris Ali soon changed all that as he lay waste to the opposition's top order by claiming 4 wickets in as many overs.

Island never recovered and were dismissed in the final over 51 runs short of the target.

With Ducks comfortably overcoming London Fields in their final match and remaining unbeaten all season, congratulations are due to them for winning the Victoria Park championship by 1 point. On to the cup..!!!

Submitted by Rizwan of Sky



Back to top | back to home